Margaret Atwood – changing perspectives (some notes on the variability of Atwood's characters and themes)

Source document: The Central European journal of Canadian studies. 2012, vol. 8, iss. [1], pp. 71-76
  • ISSN
    1213-7715 (print)
    2336-4556 (online)
License: Not specified license
Rights access
embargoed access
This paper examines changing themes in some representative novels by Margaret Atwood. Focussing on The Edible Woman, Surfacing, The Robber Bride and Oryx and Crake, it argues that Atwood has moved from largely feminist themes to more humanist themes in her novels. Rather than confining herself to the individual, Atwood – unlike many contemporary fiction writers – considers the wider human context in her novels.
Cette contribution examine l'évolution thématique dans certains romans représentatifs/emblématiques de Margaret Atwood. Focalisant l'essentiel de l'attention sur The Edible Woman, Surfacing, The Robber Bride, et Oryx and Crake, l'auteur conteste que Atwood ait véritablement transcendé des thèmes féministes afin d'examiner des thèmes plus humanistes dans ses romans. L'auteur précise enfin que, contrairement à beaucoup de fiction contemporaine, dans ses romans Atwood ne se contente pas d'examiner l'individu pris isolément; elle s'affaire plutôt à saisir le contexte humain plus large dans lequel se construisent et évoluent les individualités.
[1] Atwood, Margaret. The Edible Woman . Toronto: McLelland and Stewart, 1969.

[2] Atwood, Margaret. Surfacing . Toronto: McLelland and Stewart, 1973.

[3] Atwood, Margaret. The Robber Bride . London: Bloomsbury Publishing, 1993.

[4] Atwood, Margaret. " In Search of Alias Grace ." In Canadian Studies 1. Ottawa: University of Ottawa Press, 1997.

[5] Atwood, Margaret. Oryx and Crake . London: Virago, 2003.

[6] Mycak, Sonia. " The Robber Bride: The Split Subject, the Other, the Subject, and Aggressivity ." In In Search of the Split Subject: Psychoanalysis, Phenomenology, and the Novels of Margaret Atwood. Toronto: ECW Press, 1996.

[7] Sullivan, Rosemary. The Red Shoes: Margaret Atwood Starting Out . Toronto: Harpercollins Canada, 1998.